ACSH Elects New Trustees and Scientific Advisors

Related articles

New York, New York, January 10, 2007 — At the annual meeting of the Board of Trustees of the American Council on Science and Health (ACSH) two Trustees and 22 distinguished scientific and policy advisors were elected to serve on ACSH’s Board of Trustees and Board of Scientific Advisors, respectively.

George F. Ohrstrom, a private investor and part-time president of a family foundation, was welcomed to ACSH’s Board of Trustees. His business experience in philanthropic giving, private investing, and investment banking will be an immeasurable asset to ACSH financial growth and development.

Harold D. Stratton, Jr.
also joins the ACSH Board of Trustees. He is a partner at the Washington, DC -based law practice that focuses on federal and state regulatory and litigation matters, with an emphasis on consumer product safety issues and other federal regulatory matters. He recently served as Chairman of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (2002-2006). His extensive background and public health service, and his impressive credentials and knowledge of issues related to public policy and consumer health align with that of ACSH.

These two new Trustees join the 19 other current members of the Board, which includes:

ACSH Chairman

John Moore, Ph.D., M.B.A.
Grove City College, President Emeritus

ACSH Vice Chairman
Frederick Anderson, Esq.
McKenna Long & Aldridge

ACSH President
Elizabeth M. Whelan, Sc.D., M.P.H.

Nigel Bark, M.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Elissa P. Benedek, M.D.
University of Michigan Medical School

Norman E. Borlaug, Ph.D.
Texas A&M University

Michael B. Bracken, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Yale University School of Medicine

James E. Enstrom, Ph.D., M.P.H.

University of California, Los Angeles

Jack Fisher, M.D.
University of California, San Diego

Hon. Bruce S. Gelb

New York, NY

Donald A. Henderson, M.D., M.P.H.
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

Thomas Campbell Jackson, M.P.H.
Pamela B. Jackson and Thomas C. Jackson Charitable Fund

Elizabeth McCaughey, Ph.D.
Committee to Reduce Infection Deaths

Henry I. Miller, M.D.
The Hoover Institution

Rodney W. Nichols
Indo-US Science & Technology Forum

Kenneth M. Prager, M.D.
Columbia University Medical Center

Katherine L. Rhyne, Esq.
King & Spalding LLP

Lee M. Silver, Ph.D.
Princeton University

Thomas P. Stossel, M.D.
Harvard Medical School

Twenty-two individuals (see below) also accepted the invitations of the Board of Trustees to serve on ACSH’s Board of Scientific and Policy Advisors. They join the over 350 others who currently serve ACSH without compensation. Scientific Advisors peer-review ACSH reports released in their respective areas of expertise. They represent a breadth of fields, such as agricultural sciences, AIDS, biotechnology, chemistry and biochemistry, dental sciences, economics, epidemiology, exercise physiology, food science and technology, quackery and health fraud, medical ethics and bioethics, medicine, nursing, nutrition (animal and human), occupational medicine, pediatric and child health, pharmaceutical sciences, physical science, psychiatry and psychology, public health, radiation/electromagnetic fields, smoking and tobacco, toxicology, veterinary medicine, and terrorism preparedness and response.

“Our mission is to advance a science-based understanding of issues related to food, pharmaceuticals, chemicals, the environment and human health”, noted ACSH President and Founder Dr. Elizabeth Whelan. “These distinguished scientists, physicians, academia and policy experts who serve on ACSH’s Board of Trustees and Board of Scientific Advisors all help to ensure that ACSH’s research and its scientific conclusions represent the consensus of the mainstream scientific community.”

* * * * *

Newly Elected ACSH Scientific and Policy Advisors

Philip Alcabes, Ph.D.
Hunter College, CUNY

Gregory Conko
Competitive Enterprise Institute

Sherrill Davison, V.M.D., M.S., M.B.A
University of Pennsylvania

Merle L. Diamond, M.D.
Diamond Headache Clinic

John Dale Dunn, M.D., J.D.
Carl R. Darnall Hospital, Fort Hood, TX

Herbert L. DuPont, M.D.
St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital

Nicki J. Engeseth, Ph.D.
University of Illinois

Peter Barton Hutt, Esq.
Covington & Burling, LLP

Elizabeth H. Jeffery, Ph.D.
University of Illinois, Urbana

F. Scott Kieff, J.D.
Washington University School of Law

Robert G. Lahita, M.D., Ph.D.
Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Lawrence J. Marnett, Ph.D. s
Vanderbilt University

Roger O. McClellan, D.V.M., M.M.S., DABT, DABVT, FATS
Toxicology and Risk Analysis

Joseph P. McMenamin, M.D., J.D.
McGuireWoods, LLP

Richard K. Miller, Ph.D.
University of Rochester

Robert J. Nicolosi, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts, Lowell

Paul A. Offit, M.D.
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Brad Rodu, D.D.S.
University of Louisville

Mark V. Sauer, M.D.
Columbia University

Dick Taverne
House of Lords, UK

Andrea D. Tiglio, Ph.D., J.D.
McGuireWoods, LLP

John S. White, Ph.D.
White Technical Research


CONTACT: Dr. Elizabeth Whelan ( or call 212-362-7044

The American Council on Science and Health is an independent, non-profit consumer education organization concerned with issues related to food, nutrition, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, lifestyle, the environment and health. For more information visit or